Why Preparedness?

Posted: October 17, 2010 in Emergency Plans

My parents are big planners, so growing up our home was filled with food storage and other emergency supplies. My nightstand was made out of boxes of food and there were cans of wheat in my closet. I think other students at my university have had similar experiences… I knew preparedness was important, but living on my own in college  has really taught me how important emergency preparedness really is. Not only does emergency preparedness refer to preparation for natural disasters, but it also includes preparation for emergencies such as power outages, injuries, financial problems, etc. I will cover these topics in my blog! You never know what life is going to throw at you or what kind of emergencies you might face, but being prepared for such emergencies can save time, money, and even your life.

It turns out that Provo, Utah (where I live) has an emergency management website. It’s a great source for learning what emergency plans the city has. Provo also has a number of emergency alert systems in place to alert the public about various emergencies. Do you know what emergency plans your city has or where to access that information? If so, what are some of those plans?

Comments
  1. gretchenh12 says:

    I, too, grew up in a house that was full of emergency preparedness. We loved it. We would help rotate food (including candies) and almost looked forward to being about to use the activity packs that my mom put in there. We always knew we were safe.

  2. axctaylor says:

    I really agree with this blog. I feel better knowing that I can be away from home and still have emergency supplies. Thank you for the link with suggestions of things to put in my kit.

  3. juminchae1 says:

    I didn’t really think of emergency preparedness. I think I can get many information and start to prepare for emergency supplies, from now on.

  4. rblicious says:

    Great blog topic, Megan! This is helpful and so important to get this word out, the blog looks great!

  5. tk729 says:

    Having never experienced a natural disaster, I feel that one day being observant to emergency preparedness will save me and my family’s life in the future.

  6. linaqutob says:

    i didnt take this class yet. your blog is so interesting and have lots of good stuff

  7. Stacey says:

    I was part of the MRC (Medical Reserves Corps) back in Virginia, which was a bunch of random people who decided they wanted to help out if there was ever an emergency. We were trained in the hierarchy/organization of systems and authority for epidemics, local/state/national gov’t emergency preparedness structures, etc, and helped out at these huge county drills for medication distribution if we ever had to pass out vaccination for a pandemic flu or something similar. It was really cool!

  8. willi49 says:

    This is a great idea for a blog topic, especially because it is so focused on us as college students and college living! Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a comment